Bitin' off more than I can chew?

Discussion in 'The Reef Tank' started by brandondu, Apr 11, 2006.

1. brandondu

brandondu Peppermint Shrimp

All,
    Two days before Katrina hit, I had a 135g tank, stand, and canopy delivered to my house to begin my career as a reefkeeper. The remainder of the equipment was to come on Monday, which turned out to be the day the actual storm hit. Needless to say I lost what I had taken delivery of. The equipment is all fine though.

I am now getting to the point where I will be moving back to Lakeview late May. I was ready to order a new 150 (5'x2'x2') when my friend offered his 215 to me. The price is right and I can get it much quicker, but I am worried that I am biting off more than I can chew. I have a good job, so its not really economical worries, but more like fear of the unknown. I am an engineer so the complexity and chemistry does not scare me. I have never had a tank before. What do you guys think? Should I go bigger?

2. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

for new reefers, bigger is better.

swings in water chemistry have less effect on your system the more water you have. it allows alot of leeway for mistakes whereas with say a 30g system if you overdose something or a fish dies and decomposes, then the water chemistry will get out of whack much more quickly. as long as you pay attention to your tank, you'll have more time to catch problems and fix them before they potentially cause a crash.

i say as long as you've done enough research already to know what kind of equipment it will take to maintain a tank of that size, go for it!

3. Tank102a

Tank102a Postasaurus Rex

I agree as long as you do the right reasarch. A very good book any reefer should have in his/her library, no matter how much you know is " The Reef Aquarium science, art and technology. by J. Charles Delbeek and Julian Sprung". Going to make you feel more at ease. :D