My reef

Discussion in 'The Showroom' started by cwale, Feb 12, 2006.

1. cwale

cwale Emerald Crab

Yes, I am a newbie, and I have several questions. Hopefully I can get a few answers, This is all new territory to me.
    Here are a few things to begin with
    I purchased the aquarium used from Melnguy (THANKYOU)
    It is a 135 with approx 50 gal in the sump. (Please see photos below)
    The salinity is approx 1.021
    I currently have 100 lbs of live pink fiji sand in the main tank and 65 lbs of fiji rock from paradise pets. I also have a refugium with approx 15 lbs of miracle mud and a handful of calupera. I have vho lights with actinics on for 8 hours and daylight on for 6 hours as well as moonlight LEDs for night time. There is also one snail in there that came on the rock by accident.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Here's my question, I know it is brown algae growing all over the sand and rock. The tank has only been running for two weeks and I am wondering when I should start putting in my reef cleaners. Also if anyone has any pointers or corrections for me I would appreceate them. And the plan is to do a reef type aquarium. Thanks

2. shag26272

shag26272 Peacock Mantis Shrimp

I would say you can add them also , especially if the rock is already cured

3. JLouv

JLouv Harlequin Tusk

Just to be different, and safe....I say don't add anything until you test for ammonia, nitrite, & nitrate. Even if the rock was supposedly cured and especially if it was not...the only way to get cured rock is to take it from an already established tank from across town or closer. Shipped rock, no matter how cured it is supposed to be, will never ever arrive at your door in a "plug & play" contition.