New to saltwater/reefs.

Discussion in 'The Reef Tank' started by Alque01, May 25, 2006.

1. Alque01 Cleaner Shrimp

I posted this in reefcentral.com.

Thanks to tjhallock for sending me this link.

Hello all, I am a newbie just shedding my freshwater wings.

I lost my 55 gallon freshwater cichlid set up after like 5yrs, had mucho plant life, and mutt cichlid babies all over the place. Lost the tank because of 1. Tank was almost 15-20yrs old...#2 Despite my best efforts I don’t think it was perfectly level, and it had a stress seam blowout. I lost all my fish, and flooded my and my neighbor’s apartment. That was 2 years ago, and now I am getting a 90-gallon set up for early father’s day present.

It has been my dream to set up a reef/fish tank. I got a little discouraged when I learned that some fish couldn’t exist in a reef tank, and some of the extra lighting requirements. But viewing some of the TOTM (tank of the months) I believe there is a way.

1. What kinda fish can I keep with a reef system?
    Some books I read have only a few reef compatible fish. Others have fish that are not available in my LFS. My wife really wants and likes the fish, I like the invertebrate life and the small fish.

2. What is the best marine fish store in Baton Rouge and surrounding area?
    I have shopped at Marks Marine and a a shop in Metarie. I Mark's was really nice.

3. How much and from where can I get a good lighting system for a reef tank?
    I am really worried about the lighting set up of my tank. The set up i am getting is used and it doesnt have VHO or Metal Halide. I would like to retro fit but am worried about the expense and the heat. Can anyone give me a heads up in this area.

4. Where is the best place to get LR and LS. It has been suggested that I get well over 50lbs or LR for my 90gallon tank. Things I have read suggest even more LR. Anyone have any LR or LS cheap.