Stand build

Discussion in 'D.I.Y.' started by Jcraft, May 21, 2006.

1. Jcraft

Jcraft Harlequin Tusk

Im planning on getting a 120 in the next couple months. Instead of spending $500 on a stand I figured I'd give it a go.

I have very little experience with woodworking, so this could be interesting (and fun! (frustrating?)). What I do have though is creativity- so bear with me

After spending the last couple days looking at designs and such I have come up with this rough sketch
    [​IMG]

Im colorblind, so I wont name the colors, but here's the gist:
    Two Oak panels measuring 24"x48" - these will serve as both the bottom and top pieces.
    Five 2x4's (white pine I think) to connect the top to the bottom
    2x4's to brace the top and distribute the weight evenly.

Hopefully this isn't TOO overdone

The future plan after getting the frame together will be 1/2" hardwood (still undecided) paneling for the sides and front, crown moulding to create a "shelf" at the top and to hide the black bottom rim of the stand.
    Still undecided about the doors- I'll probably make that decision once the moulding is decided upon.

What do ya'll think? Construction should begin next week

2. ronniem

ronniem Spiny Star Astraea

Your top rail should rest on top of your corner post.

3. Jcraft

Jcraft Harlequin Tusk

those rails are just for added support.

The top piece will be a 3/4" Oak sheet, identical to the bottom.
    the rails just add more structural integrity.

When i was designing it, i looked at how the Oceanic oak stands are built- this one is similiar

4. citation83bravo

citation83bravo Cleaner Shrimp

my stand is the perfect example of over-engineering..i have a 65 gallon tank but my stand could prob handle a 200 gallon.. i still dont have any pics up though...someone should let me borrow one of those nikons

5. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest