Stores with Good selection of corals

Discussion in 'The Reef Tank' started by Anonymous, Jun 7, 2006.

1. Hello everyone,
    This is my first time posting here since registering and of course I have a question. Fortunately it should be easy to answer.
    I live in the Abbeville area and am not very happy with selection of corals in the LFSs here in Lafayette.
    I do travel to New Orleans through Baton Rouge at least once a month and was wondering where there might be stores in those areas that you are happy with, particularly selection, healthy looking tanks and stock. All I need are street addresses and I will find location on YAHOO maps.
    I am ready to stock my modified 24 gal Nanocube and would really appreciate the help.

Nobody?

2. Jcraft Harlequin Tusk

anytime you're in New Orleans, you gotta check out the "holy trinity" of reefkeeping here in La- 3 stores within a 5 minute ride from each other in a triangle :D

there's Aquatic Specialties, Rick's Reef and Coral Connection.

Quite a few people here like or dislike certain stores, but I have purchased corals from each store and found them to all have their pro's and con's- don't sell your reef short by refusing top shop at a certain store.

Coming through Baton Rouge you should check out Mark's Marine and Something Fishy- Mark's has the softies and SF has the SPS- not a big selection, but quality.

Seven Sea's is in Mandeville- if you want to go through New Orlean's and take the Causeway to I-12, you could stop and see what they have.

3. Thanks very much I will start locating and printing my maps. I have had my cube up and running now for 6 months and am really looking forward to stocking. I actually have 2 SPS volunteers on my LR. Small encrusting types about the size of a nickel each.

4. Take Seven Seas off the list.

Sorry to report that Seven Seas is no longer operational. Take it off the list. :cry:

5. Something Fishy

:cry: It seems like something fishy is no longer in business as well.